Message from the General Chair of HOT Chips 8

The Hot Chips Symposium originated with Robert Stewart and Glen Langdon. It has grown over the years to be very successful. Last year's outdoor x86 evening session was described by Dean Takahashi in the San Jose Mercury News as "...the loose cannons of the chip industry fired away ... exposing the rivalries among chip designers that are not usually aired in public."

This conference is sponsored by the IEEE-CS Technical Committee on Microprocessors and Microcomputers (TCMM). TCMM is planning a two year growth spurt to establish more conferences; create new regional versions of the "Hot" conferences; communicate via web, email, and newsletter; and other activities. However, the lifeblood of our organization is volunteers. If you are interested in starting up new activities, see me during the conference or send email to DennisR@ix.netcom.com.

The program committee under the leadership of Winfried Wilcke and Robert Garner has put together an excellent program and early registrations are pointing to an enthusiastic reception. This committee has put together another high quality program, helped in great part by inclusive appointments and, well, yes, just plain hard work. We are aware that several companies are making introductions at this conference and this speaks to the effort the entire committee has made to secure all of the papers being presented.

The organizing committee has given generously of their time to make Hot Chips 8 a success. Weijia Shang has steered our publicity efforts with precision to reach all of you here. Slava Mach and Amr Zaky have enthusiastically jumped in to coordinate local arrangements, the first time on the committee for either. Diane Smith has ruled our finances despite a heavy teaching schedule. Dave Gustavson has put together the high quality notebook you are now reading. Robert Stewart has tirelessly headed up our registration efforts. We are also indebted for the counsel and assistance of Vice Chair John Mashey and At Large members John Hennessy, Martin Freeman, Nam Ling, and Alan Jay Smith.

A special thanks go to Elaine Grimes. She is retiring from Hot Chips this year, having managed the graphics layout of our call for papers, advertising, and program for 7 of the last 8 Hot Chips conferences, often without credit. We also want to thank Dennis Coffey for donating the space for our website.

iii

Dennis Reinhardt General Chair Hot Chips 8, 1996

Vennis Reinhardt